Braving the Elements

What was likely our best vacation ever is now over 😦

So we are pretty much decided on moving to Georgetown, CO after my wife graduates.

The last few days of our vacation were pretty much unplanned. We decided to bum around Georgetown on Sunday, and ended up on the Guanella Pass. We didn’t get super far, because the snow started to move in and I was kinda scared to take the Malibu back down those steep switchbacks. Well, it was a bit late for that, and I got my first real taste of some sketchy, icy road. Regardless, we made it down (going about 15mph), and wound up with some pretty cool pictures.

Screen Shot 2012-12-21 at 3.57.24 PM

Wife pondering the process of putting up those power lines

Screen Shot 2012-12-21 at 3.47.54 PM

This is roughly how far we got on the pass. Not too shabby

Screen Shot 2012-12-21 at 3.54.38 PM

Three Amigotrees

Screen Shot 2012-12-21 at 3.59.21 PM

Wife up on a boulder

The next day, we went to the Rocky Mountain National Park. We chose to try the scenic route and get there via the Peak to Peak Highway.

Bad idea.

I soon felt like Dick Hallorann in the Sno-Cat.

snowcat

Pretty sure we took the same route he took to the Overlook

If you’ve ever driven in snow, you may not think this is anything. Obviously, I have no scale of measurement as to whether this was actually dangerous our not. But it sure felt like it. My wife set her camera on the dash and recorded about 20 minutes of the drive. Here is a 14 second taste of it:

Peak To Peak from vegetablestew on Vimeo.

I’m sure it’s lovely in the summer.

Unfortunately, due to both a recent fire as well as the weather, much of the park was closed. We still got to drive around and see some cool stuff, like a couple of herds of Elk, the Alluvial Fan (which was the most alluvial thing I’ve ever laid eyes on), and plenty of fire damage.

Screen Shot 2012-12-21 at 5.00.35 PM

 

Screen Shot 2012-12-21 at 5.00.46 PM

 

There was a whole herd of 'em up in there

There was a whole herd of ’em up in there

 

Screen Shot 2012-12-21 at 5.01.00 PM

We took a different route on the way home (thank God). We stopped in boulder and I ate Yak.

It was delicious.

When we awoke on the morning of our departure, Georgetown had received several inches of snow, and the Malibu was covered in it.

Screen Shot 2012-12-21 at 4.21.09 PM

3rd from the left

When we left, I decided to chance it and see what would happen if I drove it without first scraping off the snow. Just kidding. I was so stoked to have purchased the “return it with fuel gauge as-is” option, because I timed our drop-off perfectly.

Screen Shot 2012-12-21 at 4.23.25 PM

It’s the little things that excite me

The Malibu wasn’t perfect, but got us through our trip (adding almost 1000 miles!). I recommend it for any blizzard conditions.

Screen Shot 2012-12-21 at 4.23.37 PM

Goodnight, sweet prince. We hardly knew ye

So that’s about it for our trip. Now back to enjoying the rest of winter break (for the wife), and doping up people with Dilaudid (for me).

Hopefully I’ll be able to make some more progress on the novel outline again soon.

Leave a Reply

