Emo Skater Girl

A peek into the mind of an autistic 6th grader.

During my two year stint as a special education teacher, I got to share a room with another teacher, who also happened to be a good friend from high school. One of his students was an autistic child who we will call Tommy. Tommy was a pretty classic case of autism: rather normal functioning in the classroom, very poor social skills, and obsessions with certain elements of pop culture (his included NASCAR and music).

One day, my friend and I saw Tommy furiously scribbling on a piece of paper. He was clearly getting worked up, breathing heavily and pausing every now and then to scratch his hair. My friend and I exchanged a glance and asked Tommy what he was up to.

“I’m writing a song,” he said.

We couldn’t wait to see what he produced, and we weren’t disappointed.

This is what came out of him. I quickly made a copy to preserve forever. I’ll let it speak for itself.

Screen Shot 2013-03-02 at 9.22.30 PM

Translation (in case it’s too small):

If you have to shoot them

social around you jacket

then you to make them

hanging from inhacket

why you shoot it from

I got my antiskum

then you have to go on

and do it girl

oh yeah – yeah –

 

I see you around there

you their going kissing

and I don’t know what

the heck your missing

powered MV3’s

I got allergies

then you have to go on and

do it

 

I’m losing touch, I’m losing

much

I  d i s a g r e e

it just been seen

I disacourage, I misamerge

I fall in love with a

emo skater girl

 

Leave a comment